Rules of Golf - January 2023 =>

124 14.5 Correcting Mistake Made in Substituting, Replacing, Dropping or Placing Ball 14.5a Player May Correct Mistake Before Ball Is Played When a player has substituted another ball for the original ball when not allowed under the Rules or the player’s ball in play was replaced, dropped or placed (1) in a wrong way, (2) in a wrong place or (3) by using a procedure that did not apply: • The player may correct the mistake without penalty. • But this is allowed only before the ball is played. 14.5b When Player May Change to a Different Rule or Relief Option When Correcting Mistake in Taking Relief When correcting a mistake in taking relief, whether the player must use the same Rule and relief option originally used or may change to a different Rule or relief option depends on the nature of the mistake: (1) When Ball Was Put in Play Under Rule That Applied and Was Dropped or Placed in Right Place, but Rule Requires Ball to Be Dropped or Placed Again. • In correcting this mistake, the player must go on to take relief using the same Rule and same relief option under that Rule. • For example, if when taking relief for an unplayable ball, the player used the lateral relief option (Rule 19.2c) and the ball was dropped in the right relief area but (1) was dropped in a wrong way (see Rule 14.3b) or (2) came to rest outside the relief area (see Rule 14.3c), in correcting the mistake the player must go on to take relief under Rule 19.2 and must use the same relief option (lateral relief under Rule 19.2c). (2) When Ball Was Put in Play Under Rule That Applied but Ball Was Dropped or Placed in Wrong Place. • In correcting this mistake, the player must go on to take relief under the same Rule but may use any relief option under that Rule that applies to their situation. • For example, if when taking relief for an unplayable ball, the player used the lateral relief option Rule (19.2c) and mistakenly dropped the ball outside the required relief area, in correcting the mistake the player must go on to take relief under Rule 19.2 and may use any of the relief options under that Rule. (3) When Ball Was Put in Play Under Rule That Did Not Apply. • In correcting this mistake, the player may use any Rule that applies to their situation. Rule 14

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy Mjk0MTY=